top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Li

Fall Festival 10/18/2019

It was my first time going to an American fall festival. I noticed that compared with Chinese fall festivals, many American fall festivals are not national. People have more choices and they can decide which festivals they want to participate through the whole season. Even though these fall festivals are different, most of them have the same theme -- the harvest.

The corn maze in the Lyman Orchard was really amazing. Before I saw the map of the maze, I did not know it was shaped like that and was that huge. I didn't even know that people could shape it like that. The second thing I learned from this event was how popular pumpkins are. When I went to the back side of the farm, I saw a lot of people were waiting to buy pumpkins on the huge pumpkin field. The sizes of pumpkins were huge, but the price of pumpkins were really cheap, which was something I did not know.

Me (Right) and My Guys

I think this trip was good and we should do it next year in a different place, but I think we can still make some improvements for the next time. For example, we should probably have more time to talk about what we researched before the event. If we could spend more time to have a deeper discussion about the festival, it would benefit more Chinese students learn about the culture. For the next cultural exchange event, we can probably have a big conversation between Chinese students and Global Study students before it happens. I think it can be beneficial.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Freshly Squeezed: The Normalization of Hate

After participating in this event, I started to realize the horrible consequence of hate between people. I didn't even know that there are people fighting against hating as a concept. This event inspi

bottom of page