top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Li

The Spirit Catches You And You Fall Down Reflection

We’ve made it quick and convenient for you to manage your blog from anywhere. In this blog post we’ll share the ways you can post to your Wix Blog.




The spirit catches you and you fall down, written by American essayist Anne Fadiman, includes a large amount of humanity facts among Hmong people and conflict between two different cultures -- Western and Eastern. I am really interested in cultural differences. Through those differences, people from different cultures learn to understand each other. From my experience of being an international student in the U.S, I have been learning about how to understand a different culture all the time. As mentioned in the book, language -- the biggest difference -- is always a barrier that causes the protagonist’s family to understand the other culture. Also, as a big difficulty that causes Lia Lee’s family to understand another culture, language causes many misunderstandings in the story. We can never judge people just because they can not understand others, but need to think about why this happens in their perspectives. This is my point of view from my own experience.

As an International student myself (again), I will always like to be a cultural broker in my life. I deeply understand how hard it is for a human being who comes from another culture to feel accepted in a new one. In the book, there are people who help the family to translate, explain and communicate with doctors. Those people should be respected the most. They are people who break the stereotype to help others from another culture. When they realize how stubborn the family it is, they still try their best to show their passion to help them. People who do these should be blessed, respected, and imitated. That is how the world can become better.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Freshly Squeezed: The Normalization of Hate

After participating in this event, I started to realize the horrible consequence of hate between people. I didn't even know that there are people fighting against hating as a concept. This event inspi

bottom of page