top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Li

Freshly Squeezed: The Normalization of Hate

Updated: Nov 5, 2019

After participating in this event, I started to realize the horrible consequence of hate between people. I didn't even know that there are people fighting against hating as a concept. This event inspired me by giving me a new concept toward an issue in people’s lives.

As the speaker said, I learned that gamers are actually one of the biggest victim groups in the world. I see myself as a gamer as well. From every day’s gaming experience, I can truly see how people treat others with full of hating. There are many players cursing to each other during most of the game rounds. They use the worst words to talk about one’s family, race, and personality. I do not think it should happen at all. World in games should be the last utopia for people around the world enjoying their time, but not a place to release all you anger, hate, and any other kinds of negative thoughts toward others. It should not be how gamers treat each other.

On the contrary, I do not want to imagine what if all game platforms or game companies ban people who talk about hateful speech during gaming, what are they going to do to treat people around their real lives. Are they going to do it worse? I do not know. That is how works againsting hate is difficult to finish. I hope the world can be full of kindness. If those people who give hateful speeches during games are going to treat people in real life worse, I do not want the world to keep such fake utopia.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page